

## Nurturing the Growth of Peace

CANADA and the International Institute for Peace through Tourism congratulates all the municipalities, provincial and national parks listed below for their participation in the project Peace Parks across Canada. Three hundred and eighty one Peace Parks were dedicated to date. This number represents a tremendous show of leadership by the communities and regions who acknowledged a "place of peace" in their very hearts. Each dedication represents a seed planted to inspire and spread the growth of peace throughout the land. Our goal is to have active involvement of every community in Canada by the year 2000.

Peace parks across Canada has just begun, but will grow as a living legacy. On the U.N. International Day of Peace- the third Tuesday of September, every year- we encourage municipalities across Canada to dedicate an existing park as a "place of peace". On the same date, communities that already have a Peace Park are invited to come together in celebration of Canada's commitment to world peace and environmental protection.

The International Institute for Peace through Tourism plans to extend the Peace Parks program internationally in 1993 reaching out to the global community in a growing expression of our universal desire for peace.

**PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND**: Cabot Beech Provincial Park, Cornwall, East Royalty, Lord Selkirk Provincial Park, Southport, Summerside. NEWFOUNDLAND: Bishop's Falls, Burnt Islands, Cape Speer National Historic Site, Clarenville, Cottlesville, Daniels Harbour, Davis Inlet, Deer Lake, Flatrock, Fogo Island, Fortune, Grand-falls-Winsdor, Happy Valley, Hawkes Bay, Holyrood, Humer Arms South, Kippens, Labrador City, Markovik, Mount Pearl, Musgrave Harbour, Port Hope, St. John's, Stephenville. NOVA SCOTIA: Amherst, Bridgewater, Dartmouth, Greendwood Village, Halifax, New Glasgow, Pugwash, Springhill, Tatamagouche, Wolfville, Yarmus. NEW BRUNSWICK: Beresford, Edmundson, Grand Bay, Hillsborough, Mactaquac Provincial Park, Moncton, Quispamsis, Saint John, St-Andrews, Sussex. QUEBEC: Acton Vale, Aguanish, Amos, Aylmer, Beaconsfield, Beaucanton, Brossard, Damville, Degelis, Delisle, Des Ruisseaux, Deschambault, Disraeli, Dixville, Dolbeau, Dorval, Duhamel, Duhamel-Quest, Donnacona, East Broughton Village, East Drayton, East Farnham, East Hereford, Fermont, Forestville, Gaspe, Granby, Grande-Riviere, Grand-Mere, Grantham, Greenfield Park, Havre St-Pierre, Hudson, Hull, Iberville, Joliette, L'Ancienne Lorette, La Baie, La Peche, La Prairie, Lac Brome, Lac Megantic, Lac-St-Charles, Lafontaine, Lebel-sur-Quevillon, Les Cedres, Montmagny, Mount St. Bruno Provincial Park, Point-a-la-Croix, Pointe-Claire, Ouyon, Riviere-du-Loup, Rock Forest, Saint-Felicien, Saint-Jean-Port-Joli, Saint-Thimothee, Scotstown, St-Adolphe, St-Jovite, St-Gabrielde-Brandon, St-Georges, St-Lazare, Ste-Anne-de-la-Perade, St-Ephrem, St-laurent, Ste-Annde-de-Bellevue, Stukley-Sud, Valois, Vaudreuill, Village of Dixville, Waltham & Bryson. ONTARIO: Agincourt, Almonte, Amabel, Amherstburg, Ancaster, Anderdon, Aurora, Battersea, Bexley, Blind River, Bowmanville, Brampton, Brantford, Brighton, Callander, Chapleau, Cobalt, Coboconk, Cobourg, Cochrane, Collingwood, Corunna, Cumberland, Dover Twp., East Hawkesbury, Elliot Lake, Essex, Etobicoke, Edwardsburgh Twp., Fenelon Falls, Georgina Town, Gloucester, Goderich, Gravenhurst, Guelph, Haliburton, Hamilton, Hanmer, Herschel Twp., Highate, Iroquois, Iroquois Falls, Kagawog, Kanata, Kempville, Kenora, Kincardine, Kinkora, Kitchener, L'Orignal, Lincoln, Lindsay, Marathon, Markham, Michipicoten, Midland, Minden, Mississauga, Mississauga-l, Mooretown, Mount Elgin, Napanee, nepean, North Bay, North Himworth Twp., Oakville, Oil Springs, Orangeville, Oshawa, Ottawa, Owen Sound, Pelham Fonthill, Perkinsfield, Peterborough, Petrolia, Fort Colborne, Port Perry, Ramsay, Richard's Landing, Richmond, Richmond Hill, Ridgetown, Sauble Beach, Sault Ste. Marie, Scugog, Simcoe, Smith Falls, Sr. Claire Beach, Stirling, Stony Creek, Stoufville, Stratford, Tamworth, Techumseh, Thessalon, Thornbury, Thornhill, Tillsonburg, Timmins, Toronto, Tyendinaga, Vanastra, Vanier, Vaughan, Warwick, Waterloo, Wawa, Wellington, Winsdor, Wingham, Woodstock. MANITOBA: Birds Hill, Brandon, East St. Paul, Erickson, International Peace Garden, Riding Mountain National Park, Russell, Stirling, Teulon, Wasagaming. SASKATCHEWAN: Aberdeen, Bienfait, Biggar, Blaine Lake, Boreen, Esterhazy, Flin Flon, Fort Ou'Apelle, Fort Saskatchewan, Grenfell, Hudson Bay, Humboldt, Isle a la Crosse, Kamsack, Lloydeminster, Moosejaw, Oxbow, Prince Albert, Redvers, Regina, Saskatoon, Unity, Wakaw, Watraus, Weyburn, Windthorst, Wynward, Yorkton. ALBERTA: Barrhead, Beaumont, Black Diamond, Bonnyville, Brooks, Calgary, Calmar, Canmore, Castor, Coaldale, Cold Lake Provincial Park, Devon, Didsbury, Drayton Valley, Eckville, Edmonton, Elk Pointe, Fairview, Foresmost, Fort McMurray, Fort Saskatchewan, Fox Creek, Gibbons, Glenwood, Grande Centre, Grande Prairie, High River, Hinton, Innisfail, Killam, Lac la Biche, Leduc, Lethrbidge, Linden, Mayserthorpe, Medicine Hat, Millet, Mountain View, Okotoks, Oyen, Peace River, Red Deer, Rocky Mountain, Spruce Frove, St. Albert, Stony Plain, Strathcona, Torrington, Two Hills, Valleyfield Regional Park, Vegreville, Waterton Glacier International Peace Park, Westlock, Weraskiwin. BRITISH COLUMBIA: Bowen Island, Castlegar, Cedar Point, Colwodd, Comox, Cranbrook, Delta, Elkford, Esquimault, Falkland, Fort St. James, Fraser Lake, Fulford Harbour, Gabriela Island, Grand Forks, Grove Kelowna, Ktimiat, Kootenay National Park, Ladysmoth, Likely, Mackenzie, Matsqui, Nanaimo, Nelson, North Vancouver, Port Moody, Prince George, Prince Rupert, Quesnel, Radium Hot Springs, Revelstoke, Saanich, Saanichton, Salmon Arm, Salt Spring, Spillimacheen, Squamish, Summerland, Surrey, Trail, Tumbler Ridge, Valemount, Vancouver, Victoria, West Vancouver, Whistler. YUKON: Dawson City, Mayo. NORTHWEST TERRITORIES: Fort laird, Hay River, Yellowknife.